Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Calluses

98HondaCivic

I've been playing for 3 years, exclusively fingerstyle, and I'm having issues with my right hand calluses. I play with my thumb anchored on the bridge pickup, about 3 inches up from the saddle, where the strings are very taut. I also play extreme metal, so I strike through the strings very hard to get an aggressive tone. What damage this causes my fingertips is apparently too much to maintain calluses, because what has happened every few months is that a gnarly callus builds up, to the point of it making a clear tak tak noise if I tap on a hard surface, and then a blister forms under the callus, the callus comes off, and I'm back to square one.

Has anyone else had this problem? I've done a fair bit of googling, but most posts are about building initial calluses. Thanks in advance.

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

hmmmm... initial callouses = good. what you describe... I don't know. I don;t have that issue... but I play like a P*ss...

How about a pick?... I know, I know... I am sure you thought of that...

"When I take a stroll down Jackass Lane it is usually to see someone that is already there" Mrs. Brown

What Ross said: Use a pick. Or just crank your amp and play normal.

(Ha! Switch to Country Music! Ha! You slay me, Mr. C!)

Things are just the way they are, and they're only going to get worse.

You can't have your underpants ... er ... callouses and eat them, too.

Yeah. Anyway ...

Seems to me you've got exactly three choices ... build the callouses the hard way, use a pick or play closer to the neck.

I guess there's a fourth ... Moises Alou of the Chicago Cubs used to pee on his hands to toughen them. I think that might be a little extreme.

Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn

Wear gloves?

Put adhesive tape on your fingers?

Coat your fingertips with superglue?

Use an overdrive pedal to make the sound more aggressive?