Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Slightly OT: Formatting on a Mac

marino

Ok, I'm not a real expert when it comes to computer stuff, especially Macs (I've been on a PC for a long time), so I think I need a bit of assistance from someone who's familiar with both platforms.

The story: I have a project which is almost completed, which has been recorded in a out-of-town studio with Logic (on a Mac, obviously). Now, for a bunch of reasons it's not practical anymore for me to keep recording (and later, mixing) there, so in the next few days I'm going there with a USB hard disk to retrieve the whole thing (an album worth of material) in the form of Logic songs.

My questions:

1) Presumably, I'll need to format the hard disk beforehand, in order to save time. Do I need to format it on a Mac? (I could do it at school) Any particular advice about formatting?

2) In case I'd want to extract a few tracks later, to work on them with Cubase on my PC, will my PC "see" the .wav files? Will my PC see that hard disk at all? Maybe is there some kind of formatting trick allowing this? I remember that for CD-Roms, there used to be a "hybrid" mode. Or am I just going to be safer with regular Mac formatting?

As you can see, my ideas are more than a little confused. :freak: Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks! :)

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I forgot to mention: I don't have to be in Logic to complete the recordings, because I already have rough mixes and stuff at home to do that. But as I mentioned, I could want to open a few of the tracks to do some pre-mixing work.

Macs will read PC format, and I believe you won't lose anything by saving the Logic files on a PC format drive. Then, you should be able to get the .wav files in Cubase later if you want.