Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Help needed from a Roland VR-700 "power user"....

delete

I'm a newb with a new Roland (Combo) VR-700 (no regrets, great instrument) that has been integrated into an existing studio setting. The midi implementation is a little different then your conventional keyboard, largely due to the many voice settings and different midi channels the instrument can recognize simultaneously. That said, I need help from someone who has successfully configured the VR-700 to respond to one user set midi channel. Typically you assign a midi channel to a keyboard and that is the end of it...not with the VR-700! If anyone is using the instrument with a computer running a sequencing program, I would like to hear from you and how you have configured the user settings to recognize midi as needed.

Note* The manual explains at length the many Midi Settings on pages 57 & 58 but I have had no luck so far tweaking the perimeters. I have also sent two inquiries to Roland via there tech support, but have yet to receive a reply.

Any VR-700 "power users" out there that have the midi thing licked....?

TIA

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Tony, I'm not a VR-700 user, but do have a suggestion: Try contacting Roland tech support by phone. I called them last week on a matter relating to my RD-700NX, and got a support person on the line very quickly.

I had a VR-760 - the VR-700's predecessor - several years ago. While the core instrument concept is similar, there are some definite differences, technically, between the two instruments.

Roland tech support will best be able to help you work through your MIDI implementation questions. The reps I've talked to, over the past few years, have been very helpful.

'Someday, we'll look back on these days and laugh; likely a maniacal laugh from our padded cells, but a laugh nonetheless' - Mr. Boffo.

We need a barfing cat emoticon!

Try contacting Roland tech support by phone