Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Drop D tuning

Ross Brown

I am checking out a band locally. I have a question... If a band tells me they play a song in drop D tuning..... Is this something I really need to know?

Isn't that the guitard's business?

[please excuse my ignorance.... but I rather ask and be perceived ignorant than remain so...]

"When I take a stroll down Jackass Lane it is usually to see someone that is already there" Mrs. Brown

• Replies 49
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I'd say that depends on the context. If you're there as an audience member just out to hear some good music, I'd say no, you don't need to know. If you're there as a fellow musician talking to the band about performing, then I'd say, sure, that might be interesting to know. As a musician, I'm usually interested in how other players approach a song. Anyway, it seems unlikely to me that any non-player would even know what "drop D" tuning means.
"Everyone wants to change the world, but no one thinks of changing themselves." Leo Tolstoy

Yes and No.

If you are watching the guitarists fingers it'll get confusing. If they're playing a lot of tunes in Eb you'll might be in trouble if you don't have a 5 sting or drop tune yourself.

Feel the groove internally within your own creativity. - fingertalkin

One band I played with for a short while had some Velvet Revolver and related tunes in the set, and they played it in drop D. I played a 5'er back then too, so I just thought out the bass line and played it on the 5. Makes for a completely different finger pattern, obviously, but that was about it.

But yes, you would need to know, I think. Like Tim said, depends if you are watching the guitarists for finger patterns or chord shapes. I try to avoid that these days, same as most guitarists I play with seem to avoid "looking" at what I am playing (long live 5 strings :grin:)

"I'm a work in progress." Micky Barnes

The Ross Brown Shirt World Tour