Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Looking for the right pedal

98HondaCivic

Hey guys, I'm looking for a good pedal that will really give me a crunchy, dirty tone. I'm thinking about the Tech 21 Sansamp Bass Driver, but I would like some second party advice before I shell out $200.

I play fingerstyle, and it seems only pickstyle players use the Tech 21 and other similar pedals, so I'm not sure if I'll be able to get the sound I want.

Any advice will be appreciated.

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've been using the tech21 for about 4 months now, and I really like it, whether I'm looking for a good mellow fretless tone, or if a want to get crunchy, like King's X style, even playing fingerstyle.

It can give you an overdrive sound, but it's not a fuzz/distortion pedal.

It's as versatile as you could want, and it really is good for tone shaping. The boost the box gives you does help cut through the mix.

I've been playing live for 4 years, and the tech21 was the best investment I've made in that time.

"Call me what instrument you will, though you can fret me, yet you cannot play upon me.'-Hamlet

Guitar solos last 30 seconds, the bass line lasts for the whole song.

Well, I need an overdrive, I will get a SansAmp sounds like I need a car, I will get a BMW. You can't go wrong.

I might add that I really loved an EBS Multidrive which I sold because the band I had at that time did not let me use it.

Today I am playing with a Boss MD-2 that my guitarist is not using anymore (too much distortion). It works well on the bass because it hass a bass control, but you can't get an overdrive from that.

I am also liking the synth effects that I get from a Digitech Bass Synth Wah. Very heavy sounds, but musically useful.