Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Recommendations for an Acoustic Bass

Gary Bouchard

Greetings my low frequency brethren!

I was gifted an Acoustic Bass for Christmas; however it was not actually purchased yet... I am now researching 4 string acoustic basses.

I am a newbie (4 years) and currently gig with a Fender P-Bass Deluxe (which I love!), and I would like to have an acoustic bass for parties and jams with friends, where I don't have to lug all my gear around.

In the research I have done, I have narrowed it down to 2 instruments, however I would like to hear from folks that perhaps play an acoustic bass on a regular basis and might have experience with them. I have never played one before and never shopped for one. I need to keep the price down to 1k including the little extras.

My shortlist is;

1) Fender Victor Bailey Signature Series acoustic-electric

2) Breedlove Atlas series Solo model BJ350/CR4

I would be using it mostly unplugged, but would want the option to plug it in, so the sound unplugged would be most important.

I like the jazz style neck as it is easier for me to play and I do not want a huge body.

I know there are quite a few companies out there that make acoustic basses and I know there are many opinions, however I am looking mostly for individuals who actually play these and can steer me in the right direction as to what I should be looking for, aside from the comfort aspect.

I look forward to the input.

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm not a bass player, but I do know a bit about the sound of live instruments and I am a guitar player.

Acoustic instruments are not able to be purchased accurately by make and model number. Acoustic instruments are each individual, and if you put any three of the same make and model side by side, each will have a different feel and sound.