Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Switching from dektop G4 to powerbook? Need help to decide!

Hi, I need help with a really tough decision. Heres the thing, I while ago I bought a Powermac G4 MDD 1GHz. Resently I've started thinking about selling it and buying Powerbook G4. It's just not that inspiring sitting stuck to your desk with noisy computer, trying to make music. I'm a student so money is an issue. I'm thinking maybe a used Ti PB at 1GHz or maybe one of the new 12" PBs. On my PM G4 I work mostly in Cubase SX, using stuff like rewire with Reason 2.5, LM4 Mark II with Drum Kit From Hell, Halion, B4 prgan etc.. And I record audio with guitar and vocals etc.. The benefits I see with a Powerbook is a more quiet computer and portability (so that I can hook up the B4 organ at with the keyboard at band rehersals). I do need to get a sound card with mic preamps, I'm thinking something like M-Audios MobilePre USB. If I get a PB I would also want to use it for playing live with for example the B4 organ, Halion or maybe the reason NN-XT sampler, this of course demands low latency, will the TiBook be up for that, how about the 12"? What do you think about this? Can you help me think about things I might loose with switching? Will a used Ti Powerbook or 12"PB be powerful enough for the stuff I mentioned above? Any thought will be greatly appreciated! THANKS!

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply