Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

a bassline a day

foq1978

hello!

I've been playing bass for more than 10 years (not professionaly, mind you - but I should be better by now anyway :) ). I believe everyone here has a mental list of basslines that have influenced/impressed you. Well, I've started a blog (I hope is all right to publicize it her) where I post, every weekday, a song with a bassline that influenced me. You can listen to it, see the tab (when available) and even vote if you like it or not.

the address is:

http://hearthebass.blogspot.com

Does anyone here do something similar? I would love to see it.

Take care!

------------------------------------------

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply
What a great idea! Lists of "best evers" and "my favorites" are a dime a dozen, but this is different. I like how you've thought about what makes each bass line special to you & how you've learned from it. Keep going!

Thank you all for your comments and welcoming messages!

@Ross Brown: Cool, I hope you like it!

@dcr: Thanks for the motivation! (is this "bass that Ric built" website yours? I've visited it a couple of days ago!)

@b5pilot: Thanks! You should try making a list too. It's good to remind us what we like in bass and music in general.

@EddiePlaysBass: He is great, isn't he? It's kind of sad that more people don't know his work better.

@jeremy c: Some of them I still can't play (some I've never actually tried from start to finish). The transcription book is a great idea too. It's been a while since I played reading standard notation - I could use the exercise :)

@Joshua Chandler: Why don't start your own? It would be even better if we had a network of blogs like this. Then we could listen to several tracks everyday and be introduced to basslines and bassists we never would, otherwise.

Take care!