Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

da7: still a good board?

I just came across a deal for a Panasonic DA7. I tried to find some info on the piece, but it's hard to come by. I'm in the market for a control surface and here's my current setup: fast pc (p4, gig ram, 160gbhd, 128mb dvi, etc) aardvark Direct Pro q10 PC88mx Yamaha synth (just used as an organ/synth controller -dsm 500?) sonar 2.22xl reason 2.5 soundforge 6 NI B4 Trilogy some free plugins It's a home setup and i'm just starting out with computers on a serious level (tracking wise), but I'm looking at doing film scoring, some moderate jazz recordings (small combos for instance, even one instrument at a time) and music production (you know, that dance, pop, hip hop, etc stuff). For comparisson, I was looking at Mackie Controls as my number 1 option. Since Craig Anderton mentioned that he uses the DA7, I was wondering if anyone has any experiences with it. Is it a good board? I can't even find the info on whether it did 44-48-96 or even 192? ALso, can it work with sonar 2.22 (eventually 3)? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated... :D

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply
A Mackie Control is a controller unit only. The DA7 is a digital mixer although its faders can be used as a MIDI control surface, so they're very different animals. I have two ADAT cards for the DA7 and send outs from Sonar to 16 channels on the DA7 and use the DA7 EQ, whose sound I really like, and of course the nice long-throw faders. I think it's an outstanding board, but it only does 44.1/48 (although it does do 5.1 surround and has a 24-bit signal path). So...do you need a mixer, or a control surface?