Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Some advice?

Snowblind

Hi all I'm new here but was hoping to get some advice.

I played piano and had lessons for 8 years until I was 18 when I stopped upon going to university. It's been four years since then and I have regretted it ever since.

I'm still a student (converting to law for the nosey) and after listening to some music recently I'd really like to start playing again. Whilst I have a baby grand and a clavinova at home, I don't have a piano here at uni and getting one would be very impractical so a keyboard will have to do the job.

If anyone has any advice as to what might be a good keyboard for my needs I would be very grateful. I don't have much to spend on one however I don't really care about having loads of different instruments. Just a nice simple keyboard with proper piano like keys would be ideal (think they might be called 'hammer-action keys'?). Afterall I'm going to have to go through the basics again for a few months before I can get back to the good stuff. I'm sure my scales, etc... are pretty rusty by now, and I definitely can't remember any pieces of music :P.

Does anyone have any advice on what I could get? By not much I mean say £2-300. I haven't looked at keyboards for long time so if this is far too little for what I'd like please let me know how much I'll need to save up.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Most of those Casios (if not all) have built-in speakers. They sound okay, it's really up to you if they'll be enough for you. External amplification can be a whole 'nother kettle of fish

"I'm so crazy, I don't know this is impossible! Hoo hoo!" - Daffy Duck

"The good news is that once you start piano you never have to worry about getting laid again. More time to practice!" - MOI