Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Web sites for getting gigs

Chili Bass

Hi,

I'm new to the forums and I hope I'm doing the right thing by starting a new thread. I couldn't find older threads on the following topic....

Does anyone have any experience with web sites that try to get gigs for bands? There are two I've heard about, Gigmasters.com and sonicbids.com.

We're a trio just breaking into our local scene and the bad economy has a lot of club/bar owners less willing to try new bands. (We try to hit open mic nights to impress the club owners and then ask for a booking but even that has been more challenging than in the past.

Cheers,

John (Boston area)

http://www.driftsessionband.com/

http://www.myspace.com/driftsessionband

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi John. I'm in Boston too! I'm a freelance musician and I haven't really done as much of the band thing as I did in my native Florida, but I think I've gotten an ok feel for the goings on around here.

There are many factors that will play a part in what you're trying to do. Style of music, target audience, local interest (fans), connections...this is by no means an exhaustive list. What kind of music are you playing? Originals or covers? Do you know other local bands? What's your target audience (age?, pub crawlers?, people eating dinner?, people that go to local shows to get hammered and meet chicks?, etc.)?

I wouldn't recommend relying on a website to do your legwork for you. After peeking at your MySpace I see you guys have upcoming gigs in Haverhill, Newburyport, somewhere in BFE Maine and Topsfield. One bit of advice I could give is to try and start close to home and play as many gigs as frequently as you can manage building a local interest. Then you might be able to talk some friends/fans into coming to a show a little further away.