Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Yamaha CP33 w/ Roland SonicCell - MIDI Questions...

ozrufus

Hi all!

I have the above referenced equipment that I'm trying to get to work together. This would be a dream team for me as I am partial to Yamaha's DPs and Roland's synth sounds. I have a P-250 that I'm using strictly as the amp right now as I sort things out.

Being a MIDI novice, I'm getting a little frustrated. The CP33 has two sliders that can be used in Master Mode to control two zones. I want zone 1 to be the CP33's main piano while zone 2 is the SonicCell (basically a dual patch with the CP33 piano). Then I can just change the sound on the SonicCell while always having my piano sound ready. With the two zone sliders, I hope to be able to independently adjust the volume of each.

I've my equipment connected and can play the SonicCell via the CP33, but I can't get them on separate zones. As it stands now, both sounds are active on zone 1 and zone 2 does nothing. I've scoured both manuals and can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. All the settings I've checked seem right, but as I said I'm a novice with more in depth applications (that's why I sold my Fantom X7). I'm just a plug 'n play type of guy!

Any suggestions or ideas? Presuming I can get things working this way, how's the best way to arrange/recall patches on the SonicCell while keeping the CP33 piano in place? Is running through the P-250 causing my problems?

Be specific - I can be slow sometimes! Thanks for your patience...

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Unless the CP33 can transmit midi data independently on two separate zones, both zones on the CP33 are only applicable for the piano itself and NOT the module. If that is the case, then the best you will be able to do is set-up the Sonic Cell to only play particular key ranges(i.e. C4 to C8 or C1 to C3, etc.)