Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OT/ Any Ableton Live users?

Kayvon

I'm gonna invest in a new sequencer package while i'm still a student (one month left now) so I can get an educational price and though i've been brought up on Cubase i'm tempted by Ableton Live 7.

I was just wondering if anybody had moved from more traditional sequencers like Cubase/Sonar/Logic to Ableton Live and had any advice on the benefits of that program. (workflow seems to be one of the most mentioned things)

The things that are swaying me to Cubase 4 are the supposedly superior midi editing, score editor and the better quality sound engine & plugins. Also, the video editing features could be very useful in the future.

Bundled VST instruments aren't too much of a draw as I have some nice hardware pieces but VST effects are something I don't really want to spend extra money on.

My sometime production partner has completely moved over to Ableton and is always extolling its virtues but he is more programmed dance music based. I compose more by playing my input live. I have a copy of Ableton Live lite and i've had a couple of cursory looks through it but without spending a lot more time on it I don't think i'll really get a feel for the program. I'm real busy at the moment so I can't really put the time in before i'm no longer a student.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

ps if anyone has anything to say on alternatives like Mackie's Tracktion please chime in. I've downloaded and used Cockos Reaper but it seems a little more than I need without as nice a interface as Cubase (plus not as many bundled goodies)

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply