Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Noobish Compression question...

Luke73

Firstly - very sorry about the noobish nature of my question:

So I think I understand the concept of compression. It cut's or limits the peaks of a signal - to squash it, and give it less dynamic range....right?

So - I've never used it before - but recently thought it might be useful.

I've always played fingerstyle until a few weeks ago, when I thought a few of our songs with an "edgy" rock feel would benefit from a more aggressive tone, and had a go at playing them with a pick. I've never played bass with a pick before, and I liked it fine. I think the sound really suits the couple of songs in question, so I figure I'll keep using the pick on those songs and play fingerstyle on everything else.

...which leads me to my question:

When I set the gain on my amp, I set it playing fingerstyle, so when I play my loudest notes the clip light just flickers on - then I back it off a touch. I then adjust the master volume dial to get the volume I need for the gig/rehearsal that I'm doing.

The problem is that when I switch to playing with a pick, of course the more aggressive attack of the pick clips the preamp quite alot - which I don't want for fear of damaging the speakers.

I also don't really want to have to adjust the gain each time I use the pick (on only two songs).

My amp (Eden Nemesis NC210) has a built in compressor, and I was thinking that I would be able to engage the compressor when I play with the pick to limit the signal from the peaks that I generate with a pick, and prohibit the pre amp from clipping (protecting the speakers)...

Am I understanding this correctly? Will this work, or do I have it all wrong?

Thanks,

;)

Luke.

:thu:

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You could turn down the bass (at the bass) to address the immediate need. Play with the onboard compressor and see how you like what it does.