Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Latency Issues?

Sam241

I just got a macbook (2.2ghz, 1gb ram) dual booted with windows xp (boot camp). I downloaded Mr.Ray v 2.2 and plugged in my RD-700sx via USB. Whenever I play, though, the sound lags behind. Im a complete newbie at this so I came here to see if anyone knew how to fix it...

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Using Windows XP means that it doesn't use Core Audio, which means that your soundcard is used with the regular Windows drivers.

What you want is an ASIO-compatible audio interface. So yeah, the UA works on both XP and OS X and it'll certainly help your latency down, but you should pick the interface that fits best with you regarding your budget and your needs (e.g. if you want to put 8 mics in there you should take something bigger).

Yea I tried asio4all. I opened up the offline settings window and changed things around (I had no idea what I was doing) but nothing happened. The audio still lagged by the same amount.

So is the only way to fix this by buying an audio interface? I was kind of hoping I didnt have to buy anything...:)

BTW I tried the mda ePiano on the Mac OSX side and it worked perfectly.

With a new Windows XP-Pro box with Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card there is a terrible latency through the LINE/AUX input, but if the USB connection from the RD-700SX is used with sound fonts, there is no delay at all. Why should the LINE/AUX input be delayed is beyond me? Is there anything to do about this?

Buy an Edirol UA-25

Repeating does not make it more true.

So is the only way to fix this by buying an audio interface? I was kind of hoping I didnt have to buy anything...:)

If Asio4All doesn't do the job, then yes.

BTW I tried the mda ePiano on the Mac OSX side and it worked perfectly.