Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Scales 101 help

ThisSiteSucks

I'm prefixing this with "I'm a computer programmer". Geek, nerd whatever, just note that I'm a visual, systematic type personality.

That out of the way, my instructor in his endeavor to make me a lead/blues player had informed me I need to know scales in all 12 keys. No problem. We're approaching it from the Circle of Fifths.

So I have C major...got a nice fingering chart for that (BTW, go here http://www.studybass.com/tools/chord-scale-note-printer/ for awesome utility).

C has a relative minor key of Am. All the same notes, right? But starts on a different note, right? (you're supposed to answer here LOL).

Also have finger charts for C major and C minor pentatonic.

Now, if A is a relative minor to C, can I use A minor pentatonic as well as a "soloing" key? What about A major pentatonic then?

The "systematic" part of me is creating a notebook for all this to use as a learning/practicing book. That is, if I ever play with others and they say "Ok, let's jam in C major", I can use C major and minor pentatonic along with A minor pentatonic.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

A great way to hear the difference is to play the A minor scale at the fifth fret:

-----------------------------5--

-----------------------5-6-8----

-----------------4-5-7----------

-------------5-7----------------

-------5-7-8--------------------

-5-7-8--------------------------

Now, strum the A minor chord and do some riffing. After a few times through, strum a C and continue riffing. You will need to get used to the notes you start and stop on, but you will be able to hear the differences within the same scale.

If you learn any Minor Pentatonic scale (in a given key) and then also learn the complimentary Major scale...

...you will see how the two scales marry-up with each other.