Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Ion/Micron learning curve difference?

bc002k

I purchased a Micron back around June, and honestly haven't played it that much (other than buzzing around the presets). Problem is, I have NO knowledge of how synths work, and dialing through all those menus and sub-menus to tweak sounds seems tedious and complicated.

Now I'm thinking of selling it and getting the Ion instead (I wanted the Ion originally but the stupid thing was out of stock everywhere - now it's back in stock again). Would having all the knobs and controllers in front of me make it easier to tweak sounds and understand what everything does? Or would I be even more lost on that?

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

BC:

I have the ION 3 years. As you know, the Micron has a limited number of real time controls (knobs - buttons, etc.) so the Micron is deep with menus. The ION is easier to operate because it has the typical subtractive synthesis controls on the front panel, and a number of controls that weren't even thought of on some of the early anolog subtractive synths that are now classics. Also, the large LCD screen makes getting around all the options available to you a lot easier, because you see things graphically, instead of a text menu item that you may not understand. This is particularly handy when setting up the ADSR for amp, filter, etc because you can see the actual curve, rather than try to create that same picture in your mind. It makes life easier.

One thing you should do when you are diving into subtractive synths, is learn how it works. No matter what synth you have, its necessary to have a basic understanding on how the synth creates sounds, how and what to edit when you want to make changes to an existing sound.

Sound on sound has an excellent series on subtractive synthesis. If I can find the article I'll post the link. Consider it required reading.