Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Recommend a keyboard (two purposes)?

Gruuve

Hi Folks:

I'm a bassist from the LDLD, and need to ask a keyboard question. Trying to find a reasonably inexpensive used keyboard (say, $200-300) and there's so many to choose from it's confusing. Here are my two purposes:

1) My 4 year old daughter will be starting a mini-Mozart piano and music theory class in about a month. She'll need something to practice on that's easy to use.

2) If I'm going to buy a keyboard, then I might as well get something that has decent enough sounds that I could actually use it for recording purposes.

3) I wouldn't mind having a built in drum machine and maybe sequencer, but I can live without out if it's easier to satisfy the above two.

I had thought one with built-in speakers might serve #1 well (although I've got plenty of amps I can plug one up to, having built in speakers would be easier for my little girl.) But, I'm assuming that any of the keys with built-in speakers probably aren't going to have sound quality good enough to actually use for recording. If I'm wrong, someone please point me in the right direction.

Anyway, if you guys would post a couple brand/models that would be a good ones for me to look for on Ebay and locally, I'd really, really appreciate it!

Thanks in advance ivory-tickling brethren!

Dave

Old bass players never die, they just buy lighter rigs.

- Tom Capasso, 11/9/2006

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Your budget is unreasonably low. The digital piano that will fit all of your needs is the Casio PX-200 for $699 new (or the nicer home model PX-800 for $200 more). Older Casio Privias can sometimes be found used cheap but they aren't as good as the newer ones.

Your budget is unreasonably low.