Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Help me date a Marshall 1960 Lead speaker cabinet

VeloDoug

Hello all. I could use a little help.

I just played a Marshall Speaker cabinet that I will very likely purchase, but I want to make sure I'm paying a fair price. I'm new to vintage gear and want to be careful.

I have posted some pictures here: Vintage Marshall 4x12

As you can see, it is pretty beat up. Guitar Center doesn't know the exact year, but that it is from the '70s. From what I can tell in my Vintage Guitar guide, the value varies based on the exact year.

I hear that you can tell the year from the serial number on the speakers, but my Google search only turned up this book to buy in order to determine the date.

Here is what I know about the cabinet:

Make: Marshall

Model: 1960 Lead

Serial #: 4396 (I think)

Here is what I know about the speakers:

Make: Celestion

Model: G12M

Serial #: KL24 T1221

Does any one have this book "Hal Leonard The History of Marshall" or know of an online resource to help date this speaker cabinet?

Thanks again!!

Doug

MUSCLE:91 Mesa Mk4(rack mounted)|Mesa F30|Mesa Nomad45|'78 Marshall 4x12

HEART:07 Gibson LP Std 50s Neck|86 Jackson Soloist|92 PRS Custom 24|01 PRS Singlecut|Taylor 814ce|MIM Strat

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Are you sure? How did you verify? You think this is from the '60s, not the '70s? Tell me more! :-)

I just found this page: http://www.amp-restoration.com/cabdata/cabdata.html

The best I could tell from here, since I could not make an exact match of the 2nd 1/2 of the serial number on the speakers, was that it was late '70s... but I'm dealing with incomplete data on that list.

HEART:07 Gibson LP Std 50s Neck|86 Jackson Soloist|92 PRS Custom 24|01 PRS Singlecut|Taylor 814ce|MIM Strat

Wow... I'd love the scan if you want to email me. Thanks!!