Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

ear guitarists

tomtele

I've been trying to figure out songs off cds and stuff since I started playing not too long ago. Do a lot players use programs to slow things down. I feel a little dependent on slowing things down. Some simple licks I can distinguish. However, I talk to one guitarist who learned Page's solo on Heartbreaker with no help. :confused:

So do you just listen to a solo/chords/licks...several thousand times and it should get easier to decipher?

Also after actually figuring out a chord progression, solo, riff, etc. what do you do from there? I tried moving it around in a different key but not sure if that helps any. thanks again this forum has been an awesome resource.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply
However, I talk to one guitarist who learned Page's solo on Heartbreaker with no help. :confused:

Like every other skill in the world, people have different degrees of ability.

So do you just listen to a solo/chords/licks...several thousand times and it should get easier to decipher?

No, I listen to it with my guitar in hand and work it out as it's playing.

Of course, I need to repeat the track several times until I work it out, but that's not really "thousands" of times.

Actually, as your ear improves, you develop a sense of what the guy in the record is trying to do, you notice the chord changes and overall progression and so on. It becomes a bit like the way you can sometimes finish off other people's sentences or suggest a word they can't find. You understand the solo's musical context and you get a feel for what's likely to happen next.

You also learn your way around the fretboard and the notes produced and, sometimes, you can know how to play the solo without actually working it out.