Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Fun Project.

AeroG33k

I bought a cheap, seemingly home-made (no-name) acoustic guitar from a friend for $5 (he was going to smash or burn it on stage, but I was not going to let this happen). It has a very nice green/black sunburst finish and I decided to turn it into a little art/fun project, but I'd like it to be playable...or as playable as possible. It is a classical guitar (strung with steel strings when i got it, no wonder he felt it didn't sound right). There's a lot of scratches and smaller blemishes, most of which don't bother me too much. Let it be said that I have no experience with actually building or refurbishing guitars. Anyway, my plan for the guitar looks like this: I removed the glued-on single ply pickguard (it was crooked and cheap looking) as well as the glued on rosette pattern around the soundhole. The fretboard was covered in a very "sticky" matt paint which I didn't like the feel or look of at all (I also suspect it killed sustain), so I sanded the neck down to the natural wood (which I believe is soft maple).

I had the idea to go with a greek/classical philosophy 'theme,' inspired by apollo's temple in delphi. On the neck it's going to say "gnothi sauton" (Know thyself) in greek letters going down the frets. At first I was going to burn this in, but just painting it seems to be a better idea. Around the soundhole, I was going to spraypaint a laurel wreath pattern with a metallic green/blue chameleon effect paint, which I think will go great with the green of the actual body. Flashy but subtle. I was also thinking about using the same spraypaint to spray on the letters on the neck. I will post pictures as I finish it. However, my main questions are:

-How should I 'paint' the letters on the neck? Spraypaint? Burn it into the wood?