Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

If You're Using Audio Plug-ins For Recording

This has probably been covered but I hope to someday get away from the constant pull of performing covers and return to doing some of my own originals.

What I'm most curious about is when you're using a plug-in channel strip (Waves, UAD, etc. emulating Neve, SSL, UAD, Manley, etc.) and/or compressor on a vocal recording. Do you have your plug-in placed on your channel and active during the recording or do you wait until later and add that when you're mixing down? Perhaps you can have it active during the recording and keep it on the channel for further manipulation during a mix down?

Curious about the methods folks here might use, primarily on vocal tracks.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm no expert and there is a few hundred people on this forum more knowledgable about recording than me, but....

I use UAD. I have and Apollo Twin quad for portable, and an internal card in my desktop DAW. I also still have my old Apollo Twi Duo which comes in handy when the Quad goes down. That happened when a storm surge knocked out a few devices. I have a few of the channel strips and honestly my ear does not hear a lot of difference. I'm happy with all of them. I really like that I can connect the Apollo to a laptop, plug in a decent mic and record anywhere. So in short, I am very happy with what I have, but am in no way an expert.

This post edited for speling.

My Sweetwater Gear Exchange Page

Oops. Second part of your question. I normally use a channel strip while recording and maybe a bit of compression. I try to keep things flat and neutral when recording and then make adjustments afterwards. The big thing I watch for while recording is recording levels. I also dial in eq if it is brittle or bassey.

This post edited for speling.

My Sweetwater Gear Exchange Page