Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

? from a fumble-fingered 4-stringer

bottle12am

Guys...

Greetings from one who is usually lurking in the Low Down LowDown forums.

I've been a bassist for 16 years, but in the past 3-4 years I've been tooling off and on with acoutic guitar stuff, trying to teach myself, write songs, etc.

I finally have enough songs and confidence where I wawnt to 'take the show on the road.'

I've outgrown my poor Korean-made Fender 6-string. I am looking to buy something decent for some home recordings and coffehouse/ small bar gigs.

Any recommendations? I'm a LEFTY who lives in the boonies. I'm 1 1/2 hours away from any guitar store still left standing after Rita and Katrina, so between the hurricanes and the southpaw problem, not able to conveniently pop into GC and impress the workers with my Stairway to Heaven and Smoke on the Water renditions.

Just looking for something that sounds good strummed, that can hide some imperfections and fumble-fingeredness if needed. Like I said, needs to be good for home-studio stuff and an occasional coffehouse/small bar setup. Budget around $1000.

Also, any amp recommendations? I was looking for a decent all-in-one where I could hook up both a mic and acoustic. Had my eye on the one Carvin makes. Any others I should consider? Budget for that is $500 or so.

Thanks guys. I can talk a good game on the Bass Player's forum, but when it comes to this kinda stuff, it starts getting a bit foggy.

"Women and rhythm section first" -- JFP

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I don't know much about acoustics, but what I do know is that if you have 1000FRNS for a budget, you will be getting an above average axe.

However, i could be wrong in that they jack the price up on the southpaws when it comes to guitars probably due to low supply/production but high demand.(was that right? Is my econ backwards?????)