Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

learning guitar as a 2nd instrument

CP

:wave: This is my first time over here. I posted this on the keyboard forum, and figured maybe I should have posted it here first:

How many of you play both the guitar and keyboard? I been taking piano lessons the last 2 1/2 - 3 years, and I'm going to start taking guitar lessons this week. I will continue to take piano lessons also. Went out and bought my wife a Valencia accoustic-electric guitar. She is going to start taking classical lessons on the guitar, and I will take it at the same time. Compared to the piano, is the guitar more difficult to learn? If so, why. Also, what's the most difficult part of playing guitar?

I will appreciate your answers. Thanks.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply
The guitar is easier to learn than the piano, which might be easier to learn than the violin, you can start violin at a younger age with custom neck sizes. After you're comfortable with your knowledge of the chords, scales, riffs, it's a lot of fun. Rock and roll lick clich-ays are a must to learn. The most difficult part of the guitar is ... :rolleyes:
Don't sell anything. Just keep it all. Let it pile up and see it grow tall. Up thru the roof and into the sky. More is always better so pile it sky high.

I think guitar and keys are "differently" hard.

On the one hand, keys don't require much physical skill to smoothly play a note. You press a key, hard or soft... and the tone sounds "as good" as anyone else, even with folks with more experience.

There's also only "one key = one note", meaning if someone tells you play "middle-c" or any other note... it's easy to find and play.