Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Ever totally changed the tempo of a song?

LiveMusic

Sorry, on a Beatles kick today.

Have you ever totally changed the tempo of a song with great results? I was messing around one day with playing The Beatles' "She Loves You." I slowed it way down and picked it fingerstyle. Over time, it has become a fave song to play. Man, it is beautiful. I just strike some infill notes... I guess you call that chord-melody style (remember, I'm an amateur). It is TOTALLY different from the fast tempo of the original. Virtually the same chords, though.

Had any luck speeding one way up or slowing one way down?

------------------

Duke

> > > [ Live! ] < < <

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

<

sure thing. any good, well written song will usually hold to all sorts of abuse i.e. changing tempo, style, feel etc. check out the works of El Vez, Dash Rip Rock, Redd Kross, the Young Fresh Fellows, the dickies, and Dread Zeppelin for some good examples...

-d. gauss

I've done stuff like that on occasion, but usually only if I didn't think the original was all that great. And I don't entirely agree with d. gauss' statement that a great song will hold up to all kinds of abuse. Lots of great songs are built around a signature riff or an infectious groove, and if you change that, you really screw up the essence of the song. Depends on what kind of song it is, of course, but usually when somebody covers a song in a way that makes it that radically different from the original (assuming the original was great to begin with), it pisses me off. Just my own opinion. http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/biggrin.gif Like I've always hated the unplugged "Layla" for example, even though lots of people seemed to love it. The anguished screaming vocals and electric guitar riff are what made that song, IMO.