Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

feedback problems - help me please!

jimbobbley

hello,

i'm new here... i need some help with feedback that i've been getting from my jap '62 reissue jaguar. i've been playing for about 6 years but i'm still pretty clueless as to how guitars work, i only play the damn things! http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/smile.gif

i use a fender jag '62 jap reissue, with original pickups and all, which goes into a cry-baby. that goes into a digitech rp-12 (the wah sound is crap, that's why i use the cry-baby... can't beat it), which finally goes into my amp. the amp isn't great, but it works! it's a bit old, but i like the sound.

anyway the jag has a horrible tendency to feed back unwantedly when it's on the second pickup switch thingy (see what i mean about terminology?!? http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/smile.gif ), i.e. when the switch closest to my head is flicked away from me. i then have the middle of the bottom selector switches on. volume is all the way up to full, tone is about 3/4. above a certain level it just feeds back unless i play pretty loud! i've tried turning the volume down on the guitar but that really diminishes the sound quality so i don't want to do that. it's especially bad when i'm doing palm muting - it becomes constant.

does anyone have any ideas on how to help? it could be the digitech i suppose, maybe the gain's too loud, but what causes this kind of feedback and how can i get rid of the bloody stuff?!?

thanks in advance,

jimbobbley

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi, I had a (insert politically correct Japanese reference here) Strat, and the pickups were really bad. I couldn't get anywhere near stage volume without feedback. I had no choice but to replace them.

Have you played any other guitars through your rig?

If other guitars don't have the same problem, it's probably the pickps.

Good luck.

------------------

KHAN (Always hopeful, yet discontent)