Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Frustrated practicing-guy

semitone

I wonder whether i'm alone in this one:I 've been playing the guitar 15 years now,completely self taught.Started with the classics(Jimi,Clapton,Page,etc),moved on to Eddie,Yngwie and all tha high-dexterity 80's stuff,and fooled around with blues and fusion for the last 3-4 years.My problem is that i can't seem to find a guitar player to use as a "case of studuying analysis",the way i've done with the guys mentioned above(and a few others including Satch,SRV,Scott Henderson,Di Meola,Greg Howe,Gary Moore,Vai,Albert Collins,John Scofield,Wes,Eric Johnson).The ideal guy Should combine really good technique.blues feel,tasty note choosing,and good music of course.Any suggestions?

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, damn,

That makes two of us. I haven't been able to master all the McLaughlin, DiMeola, Holdsworth, etc. stuff yet either...

Sorry for the sarcasm.

I guess my point is, if you've been able to tackle all that stuff and feel that there are no worlds left to conquer, you're doing pretty well. On the other hand, have you broken your own new ground?

Another thing to consider...if you've got the shred and fusion guys down, start listening to Django Reinhardt, Joe Pass, Wes Montgomery, George Benson...listen to some dyed-in-the-wool jazz. Or Segovia, Bream, Paco De Lucia...etc...or, perhaps Albert Lee, Danny Gatton, Brad Paisley, Steve Wariner, Ricky Skaggs...make sure you bring your can o' Skoal...

Ahh, Grasshopper, there is the challenge! Y'all come back now, y'hear?

"Cisco Kid, was a friend of mine"

Originally posted by semitone:

fusion for the last 3-4 years.My problem is that i can't seem to find a guitar player to use as a "case of studuying analysis",the way i've done with the guys mentioned above

See, that's when you make up your own hybrid music form.