Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

recommendations for a pro arranger keyboard

Rick_Rhino

I'm a guitarist who wants to get into arranging/composing.I see yamaha,roland,and korg

have some new intelligent arrangers which brand do you recomend? I'm looking for something that is for a non-keyboard player like myself.

I would sacrifice sound for ease of use. I am very familiar with keyboard sequencers(triton,motif,xp60)

but an arranger would help me get my ideas down quicker. also would like to have the final arrangement on SMF so I can choose any sound to replace.

thanks

by the way roger will be missed

so what's the WIFM?

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Sonar, Cubase SX, DP, Logic, ProTools, Cool Edit Pro etc. on a DAW would be better for you IMO. Since you're a "non-keyboard player", why do you need a keyboard to do your arranging? You can program your sequences directly on a computer, record your guitar etc. and mix/arrange it however you like. The PC/Mac sequencer/arranger s/w is much more adept and easier to use than any keyboard's built-in sequencer/arranger that I know of.

Just my tuppence worth.

:DTR

What Dave said. Pro arrangers don't use "pro arranger" keyboards. :D

OTOH, even if you do get into one of the aforementioned programs (& once you have a good sounding keyboard or software synth as a sound source) - another one you should definitely check out is Band-in-a-Box . Some hardcore MIDI sequencing folks take it less than seriously (especially because it lets you do stuff like render "Giant Steps" as a polka!) ;) ...but for busting song ideas, trying out alternate chord progressions, & woodshedding over jazz standard changes :idea: it can be truly useful tool (& more fun than a squirmy puppy). And it kicks ass on almost any of the "intelligent" keyboards you're talking about (unless being a real-time, one-finger wonder is actually what you had in mind). :rolleyes: