Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Feeling lousy about my writing ability -- looking for a reality check

Wiggum

Hey all,

I've been playing synths off and on for about 12 years, and lately I've been questioning my writing abilities.

My piano training was unusual. Rather than learning to read music and progressively play more difficult pieces (traditional classical training), I had a teacher who taught me music theory, jazz harmony, and compositional skills. It went a little something like this...

1) Lesson one: "Go figure out all the major scales. Come back next week."

2) Lesson two: "Here are the primary jazz chords. Come back next week with all of them memorized."

3) Lesson three: "These are called modes and pentatonics. See you Monday..."

I succeeded in learning the basics, and as lessons progressed, he taught me improvisation, basic ear training, and coached me on writing my first compositions. We didn't spend much time with proper technique or dynamics (other than using what is most comfortable), and I couldn't read a lick of music.

The result? I was one of the few 14 year olds with a demo tape (albeit cheesy sequenced music). The result today? I find myself playing the same comfortable patterns, and my music is the result of experimentation, rather than inspiration.

I'm no Borah Bergman, but when it comes to playing, I tend to play music that feels good to my hands (Borah once theorized that composition was based primarily on hand movements). My melodies are unfortunately dictated by by what my fingers feel like doing, rather than what makes the most sense to a given piece of music.