Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

amps?

lidlamazon

I just got a used keyboard off a friend. Now I need an amp to hear it without headphones! What should I look for? What's the difference between a preamp and an amp? I want to stay on the small side if I can -- obviously not ready for the big leagues yet, but I do want something I can possibly gig with if that situation comes up.

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

First off let me assume you are a complete beginner....... ok, now an amp can mean to different things. First it could mean a "head" (the normal term) which is just the amplifier and the volume, eq, etc controls..... NO SPEAKERS!!! you have to hook a head up to some speakers (or cabinets, another name for just the speakers) to hear the sound. Second an "amp" could mean a "combo" which is the amp and a speaker or two (or 7 like the new Roland!) in one package.... this is probably the way you want to go. A pre-amp is normally for microphones and is not really something you need.

A couple keyboard specific amps (combos) are the Roland KC series and the Motion Sound products, also Crate makes a small amp called the KX-15... most guitar amps should do fine too......... a lot of people use powered PA loud-speakers, although these can get a tad pricey. The Mackie SRM-450 is probably what most "Pro" level keyboardists use..... from the people I've talked to at least.... of course these go for $750+ a piece. For more keyboard amps go here http://zzounds.com/love.music?p=c.K,AMP&z=1001081612844 Did any of this help??

------------------

John 3:16 For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son; that whoever believes in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.