Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Using keyboard amp for monitor??

stratman_dup1

Hey all, I've got a question for ya.

Recently a chance has come up for me to head a blues based power trio. I've got a good enough PA for the job but no monitors. As I'm going to be handling the vocals (Iguess we'll call em that http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/biggrin.gif ) I would like to get one but we won't be gigging a lot so I'm a bit hesitant to pay the cash for a regular powered monitor.

As well as being a guitar player I'm also a novice keyboard player and have been contemplating getting a dedicated keyboard amp for some time. Now, would it be realistic for me to get a keyboard amp and use it for a monitor at our infrequent gigs?? I've never owned one so I just don't know how one would work for this type of application. Only other thing running in mix, at times, will be a kick and overhead for the drums. And anybody sitting in to jam of course, I encourage that sort of thing http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/biggrin.gifhttp://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/biggrin.gif . Would be great if that would work cause I could spend some money and get a really good keyboard amp instead of having to divvy up cash between monitor and keyboard amp.

What do ya think??

This message has been edited by Stratman on 02-23-2001 at 01:47 AM

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I don't have an exact answer for your question.. nearly every powered amp can be used as a monitor if you wish, and keyboard amps are definitely better than guitar amps to be used as monitors. check out Keyboard's January Amplifier Round-up for info on all the various models. A Roland KC300 would probably do the trick.. it's a nice warm sounding 12 incher.