Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

A second keyboard #2

DSGB21aol.com

Wassup Everyone,

Me and a friend are setting up a studio and we have chosen are main keyboard, but the studio is at his house and I need a Keyboard that will be descent stand alone workstation. I need an all around good synth that is affordable and a good second board. Good sounding drums are really important along with a sequencer. I'm really thinking about the Yahamaha EX-7. Let me Know if you have any Ideas around the same price range or just better, I woul appreciate it. The Music I do is Rap, R&B, and Pop.

I am an aspiring musician and producer, but I been focusing on rap beats for the last year and a half, thats why I need good drum sounds.

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I've said it before and I'll say it again: Get a master controller or two, a piano keybed and a organ keybed, then stick modules in a rack as needed. As your studio grows, you just throw in what you need and what money allows...
Setup: Korg Kronos 61, Roland XV-88, Korg Triton-Rack, Motif-Rack, Korg N1r, Alesis QSR, Roland M-GS64 Yamaha KX-88, KX76, Roland Super-JX, E-Mu Longboard 61, Kawai K1II, Kawai K4.

I myself have a Yamaha EX5 (in addition to several other synths and workstations) If you are thinking about buying a EX7 do yourself a HUGE favor and buy a EX5, youll get a ton more very useful things that you dont get with the EX7. You can often find EX5s on EBAY for around if not under the cost of an EX7....Youll love it! Dont listen to all those people who complain about it not being perfect! To find a 100% perfect synth is...well I dont think its possible yet. I have had mine since it came out, and I use it every single day.... The only problem will be that your friend will hate you for haveing a much better board at your house!