Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Sync-ing with external clock

ady

I'm still fairly new to MIDI and have been reading a lot of the posts here. There has been some mention as to some keyboard loops cannot sync up with an external clock source. What does this mean? External clock source - does that mean the tempo in the sequencer? Loops - would this be stored on the keyboard?

• Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hey ady,

Here's the way oversimplified story:

1) When people talk about loops, they're generally referring to either a sequenced loop (individual notes playing a phrase, usually via MIDI), or a sampled loop (a single chunk of audio that contains the phrase, groove, whatever).

Remember, there's a difference between MIDI notes playing samples to create what you think of as a loop, and *one* sample (audio chunk) of an entire loop.

2) Many keyboards have built-in sequencers, some keyboards have sampling functionality (or at least space to store samples), and some keyboards have both. Plus, many keyboards have loops in ROM (their built-in sounds). So, many keyboards can store a loop.

3) If a loop is of the sequenced variety, and is in anything but the oldest or weirdest sequencer, you should have no problem syncing it with external clock -- provided none of the notes in your sequenced loop are triggering samples that are, themselves, phrases.