Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Yamaha CS2x

cendion

I just bought the CS2x but I'm thinking of change it to another synth since the MIDI implementation really sucks. I am new to the synth scene but what about a synth that cant be used with a real MIDI sequencer? Anyone that can come up with a better choice? I don´t want it to expensive though.. Maximum cost = $1000-1200. The CS2x is about $750-800.

My mission is mainly dance oriented music but I also want good piano sounds (better than on the CS2x anyway) so I can play classical stuff to.

Also, what is the easiest way to create cool drumbeats? I havent really cracked that one yet.. is there special programs for this or what?

Thanks

Johan the Wiking

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by cendion:

I just bought the CS2x but I'm thinking of change it to another synth since the MIDI implementation really sucks. I am new to the synth scene but what about a synth that cant be used with a real MIDI sequencer?

Thanks

If I understood you correctly you're saying that the cs2x CANNOT be used with a sequencer. why? The implementation should be in par with other entry level synths, which means you should get full functionality with a sequencer. Most synths post mid 90s have a decent midi implementation.

Also, if your main concern is for a good piano sound, I would look at a piano module. You should be able to pick up a kurzweil micropiano (is that what's called) for under 250 used.

Rod

Sorry, should have explained better..

What I mean is that I can´t use more than one "performance" (4 layered sounds) with a sequencer. This is the issue with the CS1x too I think. I think the material voices work in normal midi sequencing although I haven´t really tried that yet (as I belive it sounds cooler when sounds are layered in performances, typical dance stuff).

Of course the GM/XG sounds works alright with the sequencer but they are kind of boring..