Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Advice on recording format would be welcomed!

I am a newbie to recording in the digital world and am as confused as can be. My question is as regards where to head in doing a very modest basement studio for personal use (not to rent time to others). I have read as much as I can over the past few months and have visited some music stores. I am probably more confused than before doing these things!

I'm 47 years old, left music as a profession back in the analog days, and am looking for easy to use gear. I did buy a used Roland 1680 with effects cards and CD burner, which I have yet to really put through its paces. The small screen is a bit bothersome as is the idea that downloading data to the CD burner takes quite a bit of time......but it's here and it's mine, so maybe I'll simply need to learn to use it. I had thought about going to a computer-based system and was hot-to-trot to do this until reading about computer conflicts, lock ups, and other details that are quite scary for someone who is not a "techie" type. That brought me full circle in my thinking to something that may be a bit out-dated, but seems more simple (for me simple might be a very good thing!).

A number of folks I've spoken to have advised not heading toward an ADAT system "because the technology is old". Yet, I'm starting to think that maybe I need to be using older technology due to its more simplistic/intuitive nature. Obviously, I'm very confused and more than a bit lost. I should probably explain my planned uses for recording gear.