Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Surdo tuning/mic preference?

tonio

Heyas,

I got a small samba troup coming in on a future project( 2weeks from now).

Does anyone know how tune a surdo? I'm just thinking ahead in case there's a problem.

Also any ideas on a mic, maybe a 421 or LD condenser?

Any help appreciated. :wave:

T

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If a kick drum and a floor tom procreated ... they would beget a surdo.

Tuning varies depending on the instrument. Traditional drums are rope tensioned; modern versions use bolt tension rods.

I would think your players would know how to tune the instrument.

There are various sizes, and roles (parts) that each surdo plays; high & low.

As far as miking the surdo, I think your thoughts are valid. A large diaphragm mic which can handle the SPL and low-end frequencies. I would think a D-112 (or better) would work for the largest surdo ... and for miking a number of surdos (in a group), something like the AKG 414 would work. To capture the timbre qualities of the surdo(s), I personally would not use a close mic technique, but rather back the mic off several feet away. Obviously this depends on your project, the instrument, the room, etc.

Good Luck!

Drummer Cafe - community drum & percussion forum

Bart,

You da man, thanks for the info!!

I figured they would know how to tune them, however some drummer's tend to be stuck.. you know

theres a problem in the way it sounds e.g. does'nt fit in the mix, so suggesting to tune it (higher or lower)and they blow a stack or say "this is the correct tuning".

I have a 414, so I'll try those for surdos, and maybe the 421 or 57 on repenique (sp?), its about the size of a snare yes?

Thanks again.

T

i'd say Bartman nailed it by saying tuning depends on the instrument. however, if there's bass on the track, try not to tune it "in between" notes- if it's between B & C, pick one. less dissonance with the bass that way.