Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Evans heads

ScooterMathias

Just a quick question for all you veterans. I am a fairly inexperienced drummer just learning about set-up. I am currently using Evans G-2 batter heads, and Evans G-1 resonate heads... How does using the same heads on both the batter and resonate affect the quality and sound of the drums? This might be a silly question for most of you, but your input would be most appreciated. I want to learn as much as possible. Thank You very much and Happy Holidays.

• Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

well, a single ply like a G1 on top with a G1 on the bottom would be fine. It would produce a nice open tone. If they were both coated, it would have a little less sustain, and fewer overtones. With a coated batter and a clear res., you'll gain some sustain back, but still have fewer overtones.

I personally use coated G2s on the tops of my toms, and a clear G1s on the res. The G2 will give fewer overtones and slightly less sustain than a G1, but will also help with durability. For my puposes, this has proven to be optimal.

Best suggestion, just experiment with different heads and tunings until you find the sound that best suits your drums, and your ear. Good luck, and stay with evans.

Scooter -

Don't worry about sounding ignorant. I played drums for 10 years without any feedback regarding heads and tunings (this was back in the late 60's and early 70's). Be grateful that we now have forums such as this one to share ideas, information, opinions, etc.

In answer to your question, the greatest resonance should be achieved with the same heads, top and bottom.

However, you wouldn't want a 2-ply resonant head (sounds awful!).

The G2/G1 combination you're using is a good one.