Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Your evolving favorite drummers

sidereal

The next installment in my "evolution" series (the first being "your evolving drum kits") http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/smile.gif ....

Another topic here asked for a SINGLE favorite drummer. Great question, but I chose not to participate because I can't pick one. But it might be interesting to see how people's favorites have changed as you've progressed in your drumming.

This isn't a list of drummers who have influenced stages throughout your drumming life (there's certainly many of those I could have mentioned below, like the jazz drummers who have influenced me, but that could go on forever). Instead, this is a list of *absolute favorites* that you've had through the different stages of your life.

For me:

Roger Taylor, Queen. Even before I started playing drums, I had a favorite. When I heard him, I was convinced there was no better drummer in the world (I was a kid, what did I know?). It must have been something signature in his sound, his toms maybe. I used to listen to Queen and hit everything in the house with woooden spoons.

Terry Bozzio. He's the reason I begged my mom to get me my first snare and kick. He was my favorite for years. I studied his technique, bought all the albums he worked on, got his first video and learned everything I could. Odd times, displacement, kit motifs, independence, total originality... he was it for me.

Jeff Pocaro. At one point I stopped caring so much about technique and got massively into feel and groove. I had to admit, sadly at one point, that Jeff was taking over as my favorite. He got me to strip down to kick/snare/hat *only* for practicing. He was sublime.... his ghost notes, shuffle patterns, just the way he'd move from the snare to a graceful tom fill. He was all feel. I miss that bastard.