Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

What Did U Practice Yesterday Pt2

felix stein

I wrote out a kick line where I played eight note trips and snare on 2&4.

Well that certainly was easy enough...so I wanted to keep the exact same speed on the kicks but give it the simple "16 th note" feel...snare accented on the 3...not too tough...I wrote it out and *behold* the phrase turned out to be 16/8.

This is getting interesting I said to myself so I did a diddle/swiss trip permutation over the top to add "sprinkles"

Not bad-mix the two feels, play the "herky jerky". So I started playing 7's over the top, but breaking them up and artificially grouping "ruffs"/ drags/3 stroke roll doubles (whatever, you get the picture) over the top.

Very nice, now I just have to play swiss triplets on the bottom while I play the 7's on top...and then go back to the 16th note kick groove...tee hee hee...very funny.

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by felix stein:

Lockbody,

Is Art Verdi your drummer?

Sorry, Felix, but the refernce is lost on me. When I have some more time later today I'll try to look him up. Our band plays (for lack of a better term) hardcore music. We've been making him do stuff like this for years.

He and I have been playing together on and off for around 14 years.

He's probably one of the most talented musicians I've ever known. It's too bad he got mixed up with us! http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/smile.gif

Bob

Okay, got the time, looked him up.

Oh, and a correction. I just made up the 180bpm. So, not wanting to boast or anything, I went and downloaded N-tracks on to my work computer so I could hear a metronome and get a better idea of what the bpm actually was... try around 240bpm!

Bob

PS

There are prbably some hardcore/speedmetal guys who could knock A.V.'s d**k into the dirt http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/wink.gif (Throwing down the gauntlet and running away like a little girl)