Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Pearl or Tama??

N3O

Im gonna get my first drumset soon. I have a choice of either the Pearl Forum FX725C (w HH and 18" Ride/Crash) or the Tama Swingstar SW522D (w HH and 18" Ride/Crash set. Which should i buy? Im new in the drumming business, so I could really use your help. Thanx.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

My own personal experience says there is no difference between low-end Pearl or Tama. Neither provide great hardware for any of their kits, IMO. The advantage of Pearl, it seems to me, is the ability to buy a mid-range kit that sounds like a high-end kit, as their sizes lean toward the fusion end of things. Tama used to be an industry leader, but I'm unclear as to what they think they do best these days.

Pearl or Tama don't make the worst low-end kits, and if that is truly your only option, pick one and stick some good heads on them. I think you might be tad better by saving a little more money and looking at the low-end Yamaha kits or a Pacific (my own personal choice for the price range).

My first kit was a CB-700. My second kit was a Pearl Forum. By third kit was a used Tama Imperialstar. My fourth kit was a low-end Sonor. I was never happy with any of them (particularly the Sonor, which was unusually heavy and the 13" tom was useless). I wasn't happy until I landed my first Yamaha, and I am still regretting the day I sold them to go into real estate. http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/frown.gif

MD says Tama, by a long shot. Check out an issue last year i think. They reviewed a bunch of low-end kits. They said that the Tama was the overall winner. If you do get pearl, try to get the Export, or even the Export select. With good heads and good tuning, this kits can all sound suprisingly good!!