Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Slap Muting

h364

Hi, ive been playing bass for nearly 2 yearsa now, been slappin for about 14 months, i still cant master the muting, popping and slappnig alone is fine, but when i play alot of the chilis stuff im not getting all the muted notes write, so basically i would like an explinaiton on how to slap mute, right to basics, i've been just 'flaoting' my finger about the fret. Thanks, Harrison

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If your working on RHCP stuff, try simply lightly touching the string that you are popping. Essentially, you are popping a muted string. Flea does that quite a bit.

Dave

Old bass players never die, they just buy lighter rigs.

- Tom Capasso, 11/9/2006

Hey

This is my sugestion try to do the line with all notes muted, after that start to put some notes, until u get that right.

What songs are you trying to learn?

Aeroplane?

Give it away?

Tell me Baby?

www.myspace.com/davidbassportugal

"And then the magical unicorn will come prancing down the rainbow and we'll all join hands for a rousing chorus of Kumbaya." - by davio

There's slapping on Give it Away? As always, I recommend investing in Ed Friedland's DVD for easy to follow demonstrations of good technique.
Now theres three of you in a band, youre like a proper band. Youre like the policemen.

Hi Rowbee,

As fair as I know there is.

but now not sure. although I always slapped that song to get it harder.

But I have the official Sheet music at home, and let you know tomorrow.

Now you bugged me, lol

www.myspace.com/davidbassportugal

"And then the magical unicorn will come prancing down the rainbow and we'll all join hands for a rousing chorus of Kumbaya." - by davio