Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Noob here, i have a question.

Dyno357

Alright, I'm thinking about getting a bass, I'm going to try to teach myself, and most likely learn off of the website. My question is what kind of bass should I get?- since i'm just getting started. I'm planning to play hard rock, and a little ska mostly... but I'm goin to experiment with all kinds of music. So I'm guess something versatile. lol, please help me out.

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've only been playing for like 7 months, I am a noobie too. My advice is to go to your local music store and play as many different basses that you can. You'll be able to tell which one you like the best. Oh, and just because it is more expensive doesn't make it better. I have a Slammer made by Hamer, I guess they compare to the squire series from Fender and a Fender aerodyne jazz. Had them both set up professionly, and I honestly think I like my "cheap" guitar better. Although compared to what some guys play, my aerodyne is cheap. I've played a few warwicks and a lakland and didn't know what all the hype was about. But it could be that I can't get past the sticker shock. On the other hand I absolutely love the Musicman Stingray. It just felt great in my hands. Hope that helps.

P.S. I definitely recommend finding a teacher. But I don't know what your musical background is. It could come easy for ya. Good luck and welcome to the forum. Shane

How do you sign a computer screen?

Thanks for the advice fingertalkin... Yea, I used to play a little acoustic and electric guitar when I was younger, kinda lost the touch for it. But I wanted to try bass, just because it's a different aspect in music than the regular guitar. Anyways, I guess the point of playing it in the music store is to hold it and experience how comfortable it feels, and to compare it to other ones?