Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

playing with pics

martyedward

Hey everyone im new to the forum and was just wondering if any of you could help me. I have been playing bass for a few years now and i play with a pic. I was wondering if any of you knew if theres a certain way i should set up my rig. Like for example more bass, less mid.. that kind of stuff..you know to complement the sound of a pic.

any help would be apreciated.

thanks

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome! We have had quite a few "Pick" topics lately (search button bla bla bla). Check them out, they may be helpfull.

Bassically, if it sounds right to you, it is right. If you're playing in a cover band or tribute band things may be different.

Warning! There are some people that really frown on pick use among us bass gods, but more and more of us are open minded these days.

If you think my playing is bad, you should hear me sing!

It's really all about personal preference Marty. Each of us must play with our settings and technique to produce the sounds that make us happy.

http://www.acousticalsolutions.com/

Basses:

'73 Fender Telecaster Bass

'85 Modulus Quantum 6 Thruneck Custom Pre-Serial

'86 G&L L2000 Fretless

Opus 5 String "Frankenwood" Fretless

www.Ebassist.com

I've tried pick playing, but I cannot seem to get the angle right, so I stick with finger-style. When I use a pick it seems to scrape across the strings more than anything else.

-- Joe --

"If you think you're too old, then you are." --Lemmy Kilmister

"I have not seen a man who is not god already." --Austin Osman Spare

Originally posted by jmrunning3:

I've tried pick playing, but I cannot seem to get the angle right, so I stick with finger-style. When I use a pick it seems to scrape across the strings more than anything else.