Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

a weakness

Ross Brown

Some songs are good songs but have boring bass parts. I have come across a few lately that I have been asked to be prepared to play that have minimal chord changes (if any). Two things occur;

1). I have trouble maintaining a groove because nothing else is happening or

2). I gravitate toward the melody or some part of it. In reality (if I get too creative) this will likely mess up the sound of the song when I get to rehearsal (sounds OK while Im playing with the CD). I hear nothing but a single (or a few) note line on the CD.

I was surprised by this, but I had always picked the songs I played; now someone else is picking songs they want to play. I pick better songs. :)

Anyone want to share tricks, wisdom? I suspect I am just learning what a lot of you already know.

"When I take a stroll down Jackass Lane it is usually to see someone that is already there" Mrs. Brown

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

As usual, Alex beat me to the punch. I was going to suggest that in those cases, experiment with how you play the notes versus what notes you play. Try some of the lines very staccato, try it with lots of sustain, try finger-picking, playing with a pick, slapping, thumb-picking, try palm-muting, left-hand muting, muting with the ring and/or pinkie on your right hand, add some ghost notes as pick-up notes, add some muted rakes as pick-ups, etc. There's plenty you can do from a rhythm and dynamics viewpoint...there's more to music than just pitches!

Have fun with it,

Dave

Old bass players never die, they just buy lighter rigs.

- Tom Capasso, 11/9/2006

Originally posted by Ross Brown:

Some songs are good songs but have boring bass parts.

How very true.

I have come across a few lately that I have been asked to be prepared to play that have minimal chord changes (if any). Two things occur;