Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Getting back into it

glorth2

Hey guys. Newbie here. I'm 36. Started playing when I was 16. I played seriously, mostly in a prog rock outfit until I was about 21 when I went away to college. I farted around with it off and on and all but stopped playing, oh, 7 years ago. I'm freshly divorced and thinking about getting back into it. Right now I have nothing so I'm starting from scratch.

One issue, I spent a lot on house stuff when I moved out, need to do some home improvements yet, and was trying to lower my credit card debt. Second issue, I'm an instrument snob and refuse to get a Squire just to get back into it. This past weekend I stopped at a Sam Ash and tried a Warwick Thumb bolt-on bass through a Hartke A100 and it sounded wonderful. The neck is a little wider than I like but I like everything else about it. The bass is $1500 and the amp about $300. I'm seeing some used Thumbs on EBay for the $700-$800 range but I'm not sure if the controls are the same, etc.

I know Hartke is a good name and the amp sounded good I'm just not sure what else is out there as far as combos. I know GK and Trace Elliot are respected but don't know how they compare to Hartke. I want something small enough to practice with and big enough to gig with. Don't know if 100W can handle that. Any other recommendations?

I'm also a little worried about dropping all this coin and then maybe getting involved with someone and ignoring it. Although, recent history doesn't suggest that will be a problem.

:(

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi,

Welcome to the Lowdown. If you decide to start playing bass again, I believe you'll get a lot out of this forum.