Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Hand length

ArwinH

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Sorry, I meant tha since I started playing My left hand has grown from playing and being forced to stretch to hit certain notes in my formative years ( which consequently were also the years of my early growth spurts), and I was interested in finding out if anyone had a similar experience.

I'm also interested because I am now learning how to play URB, and in dealing with the longer scale length I was interested in whether or not my hand would "stretch out" even more.

I know. I was just joking about what ahm, er, "athletic" endeavors will do for someone who is focusing more on one side of the body than the other. Being right-handed alone usually means more musculature and extension on that side than the other.

Really, I don't know that my hand size has changed at all since taking up the bass, and I pivot more than stretch with my fretting/stopping

hand so...

OK, I think I got it now.

Well, I'm pretty sure that my bass playing has given me that "musculature and extension", as I am right handed. I think this probably because I did stretch my left hand very much as a youngster when my bass was my height. It makes me wonder what will happen with the urb, since, depsite shifting and pivoting, I do feel as if I have to conciouslt stretch.

As to that first comment, I made the discovery about my hands when hanging out with three girls, and one made a comment about the ...um... possibilities available with the hand length.

Talk about your all time most awkward moments. Luckily, a student (we were at school) had literally just been pulled into a cop car for excessive violence) and that awkwardness faded away.

My left(fretting)hand is about a 1/4 of an inch longer than my right. I'm not sure if this is because I took up electric bass in 7th grade, or because I'm cock-eyed.