Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

New to Fingerstyle (and this forum)

omegamike

Hi everyone,

I've already introduced myself in the proper thread, so now I hope to drink from the fount of knowledge that this forum has to offer.

Here's my situation: I've been playing for 15 years using a pick for 95% of that time and I've now decided to switch to 100% fingerstyle. The music I play is pretty aggressive and 'heavy' and can get pretty fast at times so I need to incorporate the ring finger if I want to succeed.

I'm not a complete newbie to using my fingers. My teacher in high school insisted I play fingerstyle, I can play pretty decently with the index and middle finger - but now I have to train the ring finger to get up to speed and to know when to use it. I'd appreciate any exercises of pearls or wisdom the fingerstyle gurus may have.

So far I've been practicing a few nights a week on my Washburn acoustic/electric (which has a pretty high action) trying to get that 'triplet' feel down solid. I've noticed a lot of progress in just a few days. I've been playing along to songs like Metallica's Four Horsemen and Creeping Death with a decent amount of success so far. I especially find when moving from my Washburn to my BTB or Soundgear I can just fly since the action is much lower on my 5 strings. The B string works well as a thumb rest which also helps quell the 'sympathetic vibration' issue as well.

In essence I just need to zero in on the ring and pinkie fingers and increase my dexterity. If there are any tips and tricks for doing this...please send them my way!

Thanks

http://www.myspace.com/omegamyk

http://www.bassguitarrocks.com

Ibanez BTB 505 equiped w/F-Bass preamp(<-for sale)

Trace Elliot AH400SMX & 4x10

Sans Amp Bass Driver DI

Digitech BP8

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Mike :wave: