Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Your practice habits

ZZ Thorn

Since there seems to be so many knowledgable, talented bassists on this site, I really wanna know how you guys got there. I've been playing for almost 6 years, and for the first 4 years I played along with my favorite CDs almost exclusively and couldn't read.

Now my routine is: practice 2-3 hours a day. First hour is reading music, second hour is learning new written music, third hour is playing along with CDs/practicing band music. I'm mainly trying to improve my reading ability and prepare for my band jams nowadays. There's leeway here of course, but not in the daily time committment.

If anyone would share their practice routines, how they have progressed over the years and any tips I'd sure love to read 'em. What got you guys to improve a lot - what showed results? What pitfalls should I avoid? I'd really appreciate hearing what the pros do too.

Getting a teacher

Playing with a band in public

Listen to non-crappy music and emulating that

Persistence

These seem key...

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by davio:

Careful 09, when you're in Gary, Indiana, teacher starts with T and that rhymes with P and that stands for pool!

My apologies for the vague and probably unwanted reference.

I was forced to watch The Music Man over and over and over as a kid........

An 8 year old can only take so much!!!!!!!!

Tenstrum

"Paranoid? Probably. But just because you're paranoid doesn't mean there isn't an invisible demon about to eat your face."

Harry Dresden, Storm Front

ZZ Thorn - It's from a musical/play called The Music Man. Where else could you get a song that features the following lyrics?

"Gary, Indiana, Gary, Indiana, Gary, Indiana, Gary, Indiana!"

Or something like that. :)