Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Introduction and help me out with some music reccomendations

Hey guys, thought I'd introduce myself and ask a question at the same time :)

I'm 22, and after completing a Bachelor of International Studies (majoring in International Relations, Asian Studies and Political Sociology) I now work for the Education department down here fixing idiots computers and answering their questions as a way to pay the bills; playing music is my real love however.

I've been playing in an original band for 2 years; been playing bass for 2 1/2 years all up ;) . I'll try to put up some of the original stuff I've written later if anyone is interested.

I play an 02' Stingray 4 string; natural finish w/maple fretboard through an SWR Mo'Bass and Eden XST210 cab. Looking to get another cab so I can run the head in dual mode (effected/clean) in the months to come.

As for my question, I've found that my tastes in music have broadened significantly in the last few years; I've gone from only listening to Rollins Band, Tool, Primus and Soundgarden to enjoying music from bands like:

Bob Marley and the Wailers, At the Drive In, Charles Mingus, Duke Ellington, The Strokes, Iggy pop and the Stooges, Dead Kennedy's, Bad Brains, Melvins, Oysterhead, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Sepultura, Parliament, Interpol, International Noise Conspiracy, Refused, etc etc.

I've really been getting into the punk-type stuff recently; Dead Kennedy's, Bad Brains, Refused - anything with a real hard driving energy. Any suggestions for other bands I might like ?

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Howdy!

First off, welcome to the Lowdown! Hope you enjoy your stay here in our little home away from home.

Sounds like the rig you're playing through is sweet.