Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Time to cut some wood!

hags2k

I've been pondering the effects of pickup orientation and configuration on sound, and I have really started to love that sound a good pickup near the bridge can give, and I'd like to add a little something to my P-bass.

I first came to the realization of the power of the bridge pickup last summer when I played a gig for the first time with my jazz bass. I was playing around with pickup arrangements, and I soloed the bridge pickup. I hadn't liked that tone when playing by myself, but when I started playing with the rest of my band, I realized for the first time what it means to "cut through". That burpy, growly tone was right up front, and I (and the audience) could hear me like never before. I play in a rock setting, and usually fingerstyle, and it really helped me poke through the guitars. I've since learned to love that tone in many cases.

Now, I've heard Sting-Rays, and Jazz Basses with single coils and humbuckers in the bridge position, and the tonal qualities that I am really after they all seem to share, more or less. Prominent mids, a "burpier" sound, and a bit punchier, though more shy in the low-end. That's fine, since I can mix in some of the P pickup to round out the bottom, ya know?

So, I already know I'm going to have to rout the body. I've got a guy who will do it, and do a fine job, judging by all the guitars he's built from bare wood. I don't trust myself with that stuff...

I'm now trying to decide what direction to go as far as a pickup goes. I'm leaning towards a music-man style humbucker, though many of the ones I've looked at are either active or come with replacement preamps, assuming the guy doing the mod is replacing a pickup system in a Stingray. I'd really rather not go the active route, if possible. Does anyone have any suggestions for a music-man style replacement pickup that will work just fine in an all-passive bass?